Best Weapons for Jungle Combat ?

HindStrike

Was watching a show about Vietnam and got to wondering, what would be the best weapons for jungle combat? What would you equip yourself and/or your squad with if you were operating in a jungle, mangrove, etc.

The M-16 and the AK-47. There were reasons why these two guns were one of the most used weapons in the Vietnam War. Though it's just my general opinion. I'm no expert in small arms. Military history, maybe

Nay, the M16 and it's deratives would have too light bullets for thick brush, and the AK47 would probably be a better choice, at least when it comes to reliability and actual weight of ammo carried.

Personally I'd prefer something like M14, G3 or a FN FAL.

You need some thing light and short with good hitting power, in the jungle most of what you do is close combat so most of the normal weapons are to large and cumbersome for that sort of fighting. Lets face it they even cut down the old 303 for jungle warfare

The best weapon is the one you have trained with and are most comfortable with. A professional soldier maintains his weapon so that it works in all conditions. And then it´s completely indifferent whether it´s a fully automatic rifel or a bow and arrow. It's the man that makes the difference - not the tool.

In a jungle you either get a patrol/instant contact or you're static waiting for a contact. Most patrol/instant contacts are fast and fleeting - snap shot, drop into kneel, repeat, drop to prone. The first round will be close, the second usually dead-on if you practice. The best weapon on point is a 12g pump.

Last edited:
The best weapon is the one you have trained with and are most comfortable with. A professional soldier maintains his weapon so that it works in all conditions. And then it´s completely indifferent whether it´s a fully automatic rifel or a bow and arrow. It's the man that makes the difference - not the tool.